Dell Inspiron 530
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Dell Inspiron 530

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,498

    Dell Inspiron 530

    This desktop takes at least 15 min to boot up. It takes 5 min justto get off the dell screen in the beginning then goes to a blinking cursor for another 5 then when you click on the user to start windows another 5 maybe even longer. I have tried:

    Simply unplugging the drives
    Taking out anything not needed in the pc
    Changing memory
    Changing Processor
    Changing Power Supply
    Resetting Bios
    No bulging capacitors

    Nothing changes. Mobo going? Any ideas? Thanks
    Jesus replied: "'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind

  2. #2
    Registered User Guts3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,328
    Is the bios set to boot from hard drive first? No cdrom or DVD in drive? Swap out hard drive? Sounds like you might have a bad one, Kodiak!
    " I don't like the idea of getting shot in the hand" -Blackie in "Rustlers Rhapsody"

    " It is a proud and lonely thing, to be a Stainless Steel Rat." - Slippery Jim DiGriz

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,498
    I can even unplug the drives and it takes 5 or more minutes to tell me there is no drive connected. It is extremely slow from the time you push the power button until it boots up.
    Jesus replied: "'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,498
    Hooked another drive up to it and it just sits there and grinds along.
    Jesus replied: "'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind

  5. #5
    Registered User MobilePCPhysician's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cleveland, Oh
    Posts
    2,353
    Try a Ubuntu CD
    Sergeant WOTPP

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,498
    Maybe I'm not saying this correctly. When you push the power button and the Dell screen pops up where it is detecting all the hardware before it hands off to the cd or hard drive it will sit there for 5 min or more and all the way through bootup.

    Detecting Hardware 5min
    looking for cd 5min
    Before it gets to log on 5min
    To log on 5 min

    There are just estimates but close. Also going into safe mode same thing.
    Jesus replied: "'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind

  7. #7
    Registered User Guts3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,328
    It sure sounds lemon like. The only other thing I would try at this point before buying a replacement board on E-bay is to "breadboard" the unit by taking the mobo out of the case ( the case might be shorting out the mobo somewhere ) and setting it up on a non-condutive suface like a book and try it there with all new power supply, ram, video, etc. Also, look for scortch marks on the backside of the board in case it was a surge that done it in. Good luck!
    " I don't like the idea of getting shot in the hand" -Blackie in "Rustlers Rhapsody"

    " It is a proud and lonely thing, to be a Stainless Steel Rat." - Slippery Jim DiGriz

  8. #8
    Registered User MobilePCPhysician's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cleveland, Oh
    Posts
    2,353
    Since its one step from being parted out, try flashing the bios. And sorry, your explanation was fine. My reading comprehension was lacking.
    Sergeant WOTPP

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,498
    That's what I was thinking also was to flash the bios. I will try that. Does dell have a windows flash utility. Been a long time since I've flash a bios.
    Jesus replied: "'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,909
    Flashing bios is really simple
    I always update to the newest bios.
    Years ago, no we didn't there were too
    many issues.
    Gigabyte 990XA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 32 Gigs
    Sapphire 7770 1gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,498
    Quote Originally Posted by Guts3d View Post
    It sure sounds lemon like. The only other thing I would try at this point before buying a replacement board on E-bay is to "breadboard" the unit by taking the mobo out of the case ( the case might be shorting out the mobo somewhere ) and setting it up on a non-condutive suface like a book and try it there with all new power supply, ram, video, etc. Also, look for scortch marks on the backside of the board in case it was a surge that done it in. Good luck!

    Took your advice here first Guts and pulled the mobo and all be darned if it didn't work perfectly so I re installed the board and only plugged PS in and it still worked fine, plugged in one item at a time and when I came to the card reader which has a couple usb ports on it that almost killed it but that wasn't what was causing it, it was the mouse mini usb plugged into it that was. HOW DUMB of me. Thanks. Chalk this one up to experience.
    Jesus replied: "'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind

  12. #12
    Registered User Guts3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,328
    Glad to hear it wasn't a total wash. I had a unit years ago when U.S.B. was new, the port was toasted from the factory. Couldn't figure out why it worked fine breadboarded, but was slow when in the case. Finally got smart and checked the newfangled U.S.B. ports and saw one was crimped closed. I squirted superglue into the port, took the wires and clipped them off, good to go.
    " I don't like the idea of getting shot in the hand" -Blackie in "Rustlers Rhapsody"

    " It is a proud and lonely thing, to be a Stainless Steel Rat." - Slippery Jim DiGriz

  13. #13
    Super Moderator Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,909
    Heh! he said Super Glue
    Gigabyte 990XA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 32 Gigs
    Sapphire 7770 1gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

Similar Threads

  1. Dell Inspiron 1525 - RAM - Questions
    By TrekCaptainUSA in forum Laptops/PDAs/Smartphones
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: July 20th, 2009, 11:39 AM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: November 25th, 2008, 03:05 AM
  3. Garbled Sound on Dell Inspiron 510M
    By mib in forum Sound Card Drivers
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: July 4th, 2007, 01:47 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 22nd, 2005, 02:27 PM
  5. Dell "Customer Care" and Thievery
    By lancelotfl in forum Tech Lounge & Tales
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: December 2nd, 2004, 10:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •