sapphire 6870
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: sapphire 6870

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    BARRY,GLAMORGAN,UK
    Posts
    655

    sapphire 6870

    can anyone tell me if a sapphire 6870 video card will work in a GA-N650SLI-DS4L motherboard?
    A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Posts
    4,085
    Quote Originally Posted by TRICKPLAYER View Post
    can anyone tell me if a sapphire 6870 video card will work in a GA-N650SLI-DS4L motherboard?
    The specs for the GA-N650SLI-DS4L ( http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...px?pid=2679#ov ) state specifically the board is SLi compliant (NOT SLi/Crossfire) and the 6870 is an AMD Crossfire card.

    Thus, I'd say no, it won't work.

  3. #3
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,911
    It looks like your asking if just that card will work in the motherboard. No reason why it wouldn't.
    Since there is no mention of Crossfire I don't see any issue. The card is a basic PCIE and that board supports
    a PCIE card with a 16X slot
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Posts
    4,085
    Ferrit is, of course, absolutely correct - I am sadly stuck in a 'gamer' frame of mind for expansion, etc.

    My apologies.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    BARRY,GLAMORGAN,UK
    Posts
    655
    Quote Originally Posted by Ferrit View Post
    It looks like your asking if just that card will work in the motherboard. No reason why it wouldn't.
    Since there is no mention of Crossfire I don't see any issue. The card is a basic PCIE and that board supports
    a PCIE card with a 16X slot
    thanks for the input, I tried it, but it would not work, but I suspect it was the "generic 500 watt " power supply that wasn't up to the job, thanks anyway guys
    A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

  6. #6
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,911
    Something wrong there,500 watts should be sufficient even for at least getting it to run.
    Some of those motherboards you actually have to go into the bios and select
    that it is a add in card before they will switch over to it.
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Posts
    4,085
    Did you hook it up using 2 X 75 Watt 6-pin PCI Express power connectors ?

Similar Threads

  1. [RESOLVED] ATI Radion Sapphire X1550 driver
    By howie7 in forum Video Adapter/Monitor Drivers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: June 12th, 2008, 03:45 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 15th, 2007, 04:38 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 19th, 2006, 07:42 PM
  4. Sapphire graphics
    By Raffaz in forum Tech-To-Tech
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: June 17th, 2003, 02:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •