do not use this device
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: do not use this device

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    2

    do not use this device

    My daughter played smart and messed up the monitor. She went to settings-advanced-monitor tab-properties and there she changed to "do not use this device. Now the monitor is blank. Thanks to her. I went to bios and played with the available options. Nothing works so far. The video card is built-in on motherboard. The question is: how we could restore the monitor to "use this device".

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    364
    Try uninstalling the video device in Device Manager while in Safe mode, then reboot back into normal mode.
    --
    Doc
    ___________Microsoft Safety & Security Center___________
    \____________________ ____.-.____ ____________________/
    \_____________\ -._)!(_.- /_____________/
    \_______\. ~\ /~ ./_______/
    \_______/

    "Men never do evil so completely and cheerfully as when they do it from religious conviction" -Blaise Pascal

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    2
    the screen is blank safe mode or regular mode. I used the disk I created to boot another pc for which I created an image. It booted the cursed pc and I could browse folders. This is as far as I could go.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    364
    Which Operating System and version?
    --
    Doc
    ___________Microsoft Safety & Security Center___________
    \____________________ ____.-.____ ____________________/
    \_____________\ -._)!(_.- /_____________/
    \_______\. ~\ /~ ./_______/
    \_______/

    "Men never do evil so completely and cheerfully as when they do it from religious conviction" -Blaise Pascal

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Posts
    4,091
    IF you could boot you could try a System Restore (provided you have an O/S that supports it and actually have some restore points).

  6. #6
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,952
    You could also likely use another monitor that it has not been attached to before to reset it
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

Similar Threads

  1. 61883 Class Bus Device - Device Could Not Start Code 10
    By kalderink in forum USB/Firewire
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: June 22nd, 2009, 07:29 AM
  2. Device Manager...Mass storage Device Problem
    By kes101 in forum USB/Firewire
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 18th, 2004, 12:06 PM
  3. Windows 2000 device manager code 10 for CDROM drive that works as a boot device
    By Joe Sufleta in forum CD-ROM/CDR(-W)/DVD Drivers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2004, 05:10 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 20th, 2001, 10:01 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 2nd, 2001, 07:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  






×
We have made updates to our Privacy Policy to reflect the implementation of the General Data Protection Regulation.