NooNoo contacted me to call my attention to the fact that a technician posted a reply saying TigerSurplus is not part of TigerDirect. The reason I thought they were part of Tiger Direct is because TigerSurplus used to be called Package2u and had a url of
http://66.216.68.88/index.html Then about 2 years ago(?) they changed their name to TigerSurplus. I seem to remember also reading something on the TigerDirect site at the time talking about their new surplus division. I certainly may have been mistaken about this. I have looked at the TigerDirect site and see no mention of TigerSurplus.
I will take the technicicans claim at face value. However, on the TigerSurplus site when you click About Us this is what it says:
"TigerSurplus is located in the small rural town of Grand Saline, Texas with 4 downtown warehouses & over 100 different items
In Stock to choose from at prices far below retail. We have built relations with manufactures to bring you tremendous savings on name brand items. In addition, many of the items we offer are from companies, businesses and Manufactures that have went out of business bringing the savings home to you in a business-to-consumer e-commerce format.
We add items daily so please keep us bookmarked"
So on their site they don't say they are, or aren't affiliated with TigerDirect. At the least you have to wonder if they used the name TigerSurplus to captilize on the name recognition of TigerDirect.
I also wonder (being the skeptic I am) why the technician words it:
"We have NEVER bought or sold ANYTHING from
www.tigerdirect.com and we are DEFINATELY not Tiger Directs Wholesale site."
Since on their site they do buy from many companies, businesses and Manufactures are they saying they never buy from other retailers overstocked or discontinued items? I was once informed by Compgeeks a similiar site that they often do buy such items. So by saying they don't buy from the url
www.tigerdirect.com the same way you or I do they leave open the fact they may still buy from the tigerdirect company in a company to company transaction. This is complete speculation on my part.
I would like to say I have never had a problem buying from TigerSurplus. However, I would challenge them to state plainly on their site that they are not affiliated with Tigerdirect. Otherwise I have an issue with their name being misleading.