Hookup Video card to TV?

Thread: Hookup Video card to TV?

Question Hookup Video card to TV?

Sys specs:
    AMD Athlon XP 1800
    Asus A7V333
    nVida Chaintech 128 Ti4600 w/tv out + Dvi/out
    256 ddr ram pc-2100

Hi, I’m not too experienced with the latest video cards and I just bought the new Ti4600 card. Now it has the TV out as S-Video. My TV dosnt have the S-Video hookup but does have the three RCA hookups. So I got a S-Video to RCA converter. I hooked up the converter to the s-video on my video card; then one end of the RCA video line to the s-video to RCA converter. Then, the other end of the RCA cable to my TV.

So I turned on my TV and switched it to Video mode (tv/video button) and started up my computer. The TV stayed black and did not show any Video of my Desktop or anything. I know I had the right RCA cord hooked up to the Video line in the back of my TV. The RCA cord type was Video cause I just used the one I use for my VCR.

Do I have to configure or install some programs in order to hook up my video card to my TV? Can anyone give me any suggestions or advise? This is my first time doing this cause I had a 4mb ATI onboard crap video card before and this new card is just blowing me away!!

Thnx for any help you can provide.

Oh, and DVI out, what the heck can I do with that? DVD? Couldn’t I just play the dvd on my computer and watch it on my TV with the S-Video?
    Last edited by PacMan; September 1st, 2002 at 01:33 AM.

OK- first of all when you hooked up the s-video out did you still have a desktop on your monitor? If yes you haven't told the software to output to s-video. Assuming you have the full driver suite installed for your video card, right click the desktop, properties, settings tab, advanced button... you should find all the set ups in there.

The video card should come with a manual either on the driver cd or a hard copy... go through this and check the steps you need to take.