RAR Video Files

Thread: RAR Video Files

Question RAR Video Files

This video stuff is driving me to drinking! LOL!

I have a RAR video File... I found out that this is a "new" Windows Zipped file. I downloaded and installed WinRAR and proceeded to unzip this video file. I was feeling pretty smart at this point.

Then I tried to play the video and couldn't. LOL!

To top it off, the WinRAR software began to attach itself to other files so I uninstalled it.

I still can't play the video. If I do need to burn it first, how do I get the image and sound to match up? Plus the file split up when I unzipped it.

These RAR files and BIN files may be the New thing, but they aren't as easy as the old way. Media Player and RealOne Player work sooo easy.

[B]How can I simply, or not so simply... watch the video?[/B]

Thanks all!

Red

I'm no expert, and I'm not entirely sure whats happening here,.. but it sounds to me like these could be "video cd" files. They should be unzipped into a folder, then burned to a cd in video cd format to be viewable if thats the case. I think you can use WinZip to unzip *.rar files. I could be wrong though,.. it's been awhile since I've worked with *.rar files. I usually just use *.zip. Anyway...

Btw,.. those are not new file formats just in case you were wondering. And they're not media formats. I'm not sure how to word this so that it's easy to understand,.. but like the *.bin file for instance is one of the files needed to make the media file play correctly. And the *.rar file is a zipped file format. It basically takes many files and puts them in a sort of suitcase to keep them together for portability and compression purposes. When you "unzip" the RAR file,.. it's not splitting up the file,.. it's removing the files from the suitcase and putting them in the correct places so that your video will be able to playback.