Problem loading external CDROM device drivers on laptop windows installation

Thread: Problem loading external CDROM device drivers on laptop windows installation

Problem loading external CDROM device drivers on laptop windows installation

Hi guys

I have a TOSHIBA Portege 3440CT

I have reformatted the HD as it was full of junk but the laptop only has an external CDROM (NO FLOPPY). When I load the recovery CD I get the 'emergency multiboot cd' menu but when I choose the option to install WINME it starts loading files but DOES NOT load the device driver for the CDROM (as its external) I have the driver on disc for the CDROM included on the multiboot recovery disc BUT when I choose to install it, it fails to find CDROM drivers AGAIN! So ultimately there is no E drive, and no windows installation recognition...

I am told that my option will be to copy the driver files from CD to the HDD and install the driver this way. But it wont recognise the drive?? I am not experienced in this area and would appreciate some guidance, ideas, suggestions & solutions!!

Thanks very much

So welcome to windrivers Loul

Mmm no internal cd & no floppy drive either ? .. rock & a hard place springs to mind !

But hang on a minute where's it copying from ? It can see something !

So are you 'really' saying you can load windows with this external drive, but once that's 'up' you don't have a cd drive showing up inside that ? - despite the fact it just 'recovered' it for you from a cd, there's no appropriate drive letter for it in windoze ?

How is the CD drive connected ? usb ?

Thumbs up

Thanks for the reply and the welcome!!