Raid 0 Config - recovery
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Raid 0 Config - recovery

  1. #1
    Registered User TheCardMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    241

    Raid 0 Config - recovery

    I have a machine with a 3ware controller (8506) with 4 - 80gig Serial ATA drives running in Raid 0. I am having trouble with one of the drive I believe. I want to resort to a single IDE 160gig drive. Will I be able to read the data on each of the Serial ATA drives? in a different computer to recover files?
    -----------------------------------
    If all fails....Use a sledgehammer !!
    -----------------------------------

  2. #2
    Registered User RejectionMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    552
    this is the inherent problem wiht RAID 0. If a drive packs it in all of your data is lost. If it is still working you have very few options, but it is basicaly the same procedure as seperating the drives from the raid array.

    basiacly what you do is back up all of your data, remove the faulty drive or break the array (done in the RAID controller), and restore from back up to single disk or new array.

    1. make a backup
    2. make a backup
    3 make sure hte back up works!
    4. do i need to say it again?
    5. loacte the faulty disk if present
    5a. replace faulty disk
    6. change RAID array configuration, break the array, or ensure that it reconizes the new disk as a member.
    7. restore from backup to a) the new array, or B) a single disk if it will all fit.

    As to your other questions: the data on the disks can only be read individualy after hte array has been split and the data rewriten to the disks, breaking a RAID 0 array effectivly LOSSES ALL DATA.

    putting the disks in a differnet computer will only work if they are not in RAID mode, or the differnet computer has the excat same RAID controller. Windows may not work in a differnt computer regardless due to the hardware changes...

    for more information refer to Toms Hardware

    Tom suggests that using a software RAID configuration will be more effective as it dosent care what hte hardware is so you can easily move the arry from PC to PC, problem is that i don't belive that you can install the OS on a soft RAID setup.
    Powered by: AMD Opeteron 175, 2 GB Mushkin XP4000, eVGA 7800 GT CO OC SLI, Creative X-Fi, WD25000 RAID 0, Plextor 716-SA, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Enermax Liberty 620, Zalman 9500 HS

Similar Threads

  1. Adding More Storage With A RAID 1 Array
    By Farrar in forum Tech-To-Tech
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 2nd, 2005, 11:43 AM
  2. RAID % and XP Installation problems
    By BernardStewart in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 22nd, 2004, 09:30 AM
  3. busy work
    By ilovetheusers in forum Tech Lounge & Tales
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 23rd, 2002, 03:04 PM
  4. KT7A Raid working, final config question
    By pcejim@dol.net in forum BIOS/Motherboard Drivers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 24th, 2001, 12:49 AM
  5. [RESOLVED] problems installing win2k on KA7-100 (RAID)
    By Erbium in forum Hard Drive/IDE/SCSI Drivers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 13th, 2001, 12:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •