Win 98se shutdown issue

Thread: Win 98se shutdown issue

Question Win 98se shutdown issue

Ok, I'm having an odd issue with my most recent re-install of Win98SE. I've been using the same copy for 6 years now and am extremely familiar with the in's and out's of SE. I did a re-install because I got a new MB and Video card and long ago learned that MB upgrades don't work well on an existing copy of SE. So I get nearly everything installed and I start getting intermitant lockups at shutdown. I began forcing the creation of a bootlog every time to discover the cause, and I noticed something odd. Here's the shutdown sequence, even when it reboots successfully.

Code:
    Terminate = User
    Terminate = Query Drivers
    EndTerminate = Query Drivers
    Terminate = Unload Network
    EndTerminate = Unload Network
    Terminate = Reset Display
    EndTerminate = Reset Display
    EndTerminate = User
    --
    Notice something odd? That's right, no "Terminate = KERNEL" sequence. Also if I force a Windows restart with the shift key, it completes through "EndTerminate = KERNEL" and starts to reload, but hangs at a seemingly random point during reload. (it keeps changing) I've tried all the usual SE restart hang fixes... not letting SE do IRQ steering... the infamous "IDE cache patch"... etc. Of note, I have no issues putting it in Suspend and coming back out. I have the latest BIOS update and am running the latest versions of nearly all my drivers. (some are not becuase the latest versions generate problems of their own) For a snapshot, here's my system specs and key drivers:

MB: Asus A7V8X-X (BIOS version 1012; VIA Hyperion 455vp1)
    CPU: Athlon 2500+ (no overclocking)
    Memory: 1x 512meg DDR 2700 (no previous issues)
    Video: Asus V9570 GeForce FX 5700 256meg AGP8x (Forceware 71.84)
    Sound: SB Audigy (v2.5 VxD Patch; EMU10KX.VXD 4.12.01.0125-1.00.0010)
    (onboard AC97 audio disabled in BIOS)
    Network: Onboard VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet (v3.15)