Internet Explorer was not able to open this Internet site. The requested site is eith

Thread: Internet Explorer was not able to open this Internet site. The requested site is eith

Internet Explorer was not able to open this Internet site. The requested site is eith

Programs can download their own updates, but IE can never download anything, I always get this message

"Internet Explorer was not able to open this Internet site. The requested site is either unavailable or cannot be found. please try again later"

E-mail attachments, drivers, IE7, WMP11, music, screensavers, you name it, IE can never "find" the site or file whereas other programs indeed download their updates.

I have swept my system for malware of all kinds, I am not an expert but I started to think it might be related to something else.

My system is Win XP home sp2 GQ computer bought at Fry's.

You may want to look at my previous thread related to this problem here

http://forums.windrivers.com/showthr...5&page=1&pp=15

Downloads and Safe ActiveX are allowed

Help!!

Since you had a bunch of bad stuff on your comp before, the IE7 files may be corrupted somehow; I suggest you remove IE7 and go back to IE6 then, if you wish, install IE7 again.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/927177

http://www.theeldergeek.com/repair_r...e_and_oe_6.htm

Also, I quote a poster from Experts Exchange regarding re-install of IE6:

"Comment from snazy
    Date: 12/31/2006 12:38PM PST
    Comment

Hi.Sorry for the delay I just came home.I repaired IE6 right clicking on the ie.inf, click install and follow the instractions(it asks for the windows xp sp2 cd). The file is located in C:\WINDOWS\inf.You have to enable show hidden files and folders first.But as there was nothing wrong with IE7 before that,I don't know if this is the right suggestion.And then I found another article about uninstall of IE7.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/927177