[RESOLVED] Having file sharing issues on my network.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: [RESOLVED] Having file sharing issues on my network.

Resolved [RESOLVED] Having file sharing issues on my network.

First off I'd like to say that I don't like asking for a lot of help, I'm not that familiar with networking(this is my first home network I have no previous experience with network hardware) but I'm willing to learn more if you will kindly tell me where and how.

To start off here is how my network looks: I have computer A and computer B connected to my Netgear WGR614 router via Cat5e cables and the router is connected to my DSL modem, I have file sharing enabled on both computer A and B.

The current problem I am experiencing is this, I can use computer B to copy files from computer A to B, but I cannot use computer A to copy files from B to A although I can freely send files from A/B to either A/B reading is the problem.

I used to have zonealarm installed on computer B but that has been completely removed per instructions I found at this site(my thanks to whomever posted that).

I thank all of you for taking the time to read and or reply to this. I will gladly accept any constructive criticism also .

Are both computers windows xp?
    Computer Rescue Service

"those who do not remember history are condemned to repeat it."

Quote Originally Posted by geoscomp
    Are both computers windows xp?
    Sorry, I forgot to mention, Yes they are both Windoes XP home SP2.

Loopy, do you get any error messages in the process? I've worked on some machines that had weird networking issues (that I never got resolved short of a repair installation) which caused an "access denied" error on Machine B when I used it to copy/read files from Machine A. I've also seen similar glitches fixed just by running the Networking Wizard.

Quote Originally Posted by slgrieb