USB drivers not found in Windows 2000
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: USB drivers not found in Windows 2000

USB drivers not found in Windows 2000

Windows 2000 SP4 has lost it's mind, and it is causing me to lose mine!

Bottom line: I think a recent windows update messed up the USB drivers on my machine. I cannot install simple "plug-and-play" USB devices on the machine. Details follow. I'm not too good with hardware, so I apologize if I provide too much or the wrong information.

I have an 8-year old Dell desktop running Windows 2000 SP4 with all the updates that are offered by Windows update.

In the past, all USB devices would be found and installed by Windows automatically, without the need for any special drivers from the manufacturer. For example, I have flash disk drives, that "just work" when plugged in. The same goes for an SD memory card reader. I do have a USB optical mouse that requires a driver for extended features, but the basics work with whatever driver that Windows supplies by default.

Recently I plugged in a USB flash drive that has been working fine for YEARS, and Windows is now asking for a driver. I know for a fact that I never did anything special to use this drive in the past. Why is it now, all of a sudden, looking for the driver? It works as "plug-and-play" when I plug it into my WXP machine.

I fiddled around a bit and Windows found C:\WINNT\inf\oem3.inf which as far as I can tell, was pointing to USBSTOR.SYS, which I confirmed was NOT anywhere on my system. I found a Windows 2000 copy on the Web and installed it, and now the USB drive works.