win7 x64 memory usage
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: win7 x64 memory usage

  1. #1
    Registered User HipHoper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,747

    win7 x64 memory usage

    Hello,

    A client of mine uses Asus Zenbook laptop that came with 4gb memeory and when he start up the computer, The memory usage is around 1.1gb before even opening some application. It seems a bit high to my opinion, And I would like you input.
    He opens a lot of chome pages and adobe pdf so it easily builds up to 3GB+ of memory usage...
    I don't know if I should recommend him to upgrade his memory to 8GB, because when I looked at the running process with process explorer X64 is saw that except SVHOST (260mb) and DWM (Around 150mb) nothing special captured lot of memory.

    Thank you,

    H.

  2. #2
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    So how big is the pagefile? Has it been cleared recently?

    What is using the 1.1gb?

    How much physical ram and how much pagefile is in use?
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  3. #3
    Registered User CeeBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,494
    Seems excessive. I'm currently using 3.8GB with 2 instances of Visual Studio (one actively debugging), MS Office (Outlook + Excel open), Firefox, IE, SQL server express, SQL management studio...
    Protected by Glock. Don't mess with me!

  4. #4
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,952
    I am running win 8 with 72 processes and right now firefox ,mirc,trillian Norton and a few other assorted apps are open and i am using 2.1 gigs of 16.0 so I would bet that asus has some junky crap software running in the background
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  5. #5
    Registered User HipHoper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,747
    Thank guys.
    @ NooNoo It mostly the 2 files i've mentioned and the rest seems normal sized (like 20-30 processes that are 2-50mb in size)
    Since the client does not want a freshly installed windows - I've suggested him to :
    1. add memory to 8gb
    2. replace his 128gb ssd drive to a 250gb drive since he has like 15gb left in it.

    I looked at what loads by asus, and except for 2-3 eye candy widget, I haven't seen something that caught my eyes.

  6. #6
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    Clear the page file and temp files
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  7. #7
    Registered User HipHoper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,747
    Im using ccleaner - So it clean temp files from the last 48 hours on each reboot. I will try to clean the page file.

    Thank you

  8. #8
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    very easy, into computer properties, advanced system settings, performance settings button, advanced tab and click change button set all drives to no paging file, accept the warning message and reboot. Then put it back after checking that the pagefile.sys in the root of C: is missing.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  9. #9
    Registered User HipHoper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,747
    Tried to disable, restart and recreate pagefile.sys - Problem still persist - memory usage after a restart is above 1gb.....

  10. #10
    Registered User nunob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    597
    Have you turned off stuff that is not needed like programs at startup and services that are not needed?
    Can't never did anything except whine about what he couldn't do.
    Do, or do not. There is no try.


    http://www.northernaurora.com/page/index.html
    http://www.northernaurora.com/page/chat.html Free Chat

  11. #11
    Registered User slgrieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,103
    Hey, Hip. Win7 and Win8 will always show heavy memory usage, but it doesn't mean the same as memory usage in XP. Win7 and 8 cache a lot more program files than XP, and are much more efficient in multitasking. So, Win7 always shows heavy memory usage. But, it's deceptive. The sweet spot for Win7/8 performance is 8 GB of RAM, but 4 GB is certainly sufficient.
    Yes, Mr. Death... I'll play you a game! But not CHESS !!! BAH... FOOEY! My game is...
    WIFFLEBALL!

Similar Threads

  1. Win7 Ultimate
    By Kodiak in forum Windows 7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 28th, 2011, 09:22 AM
  2. Upgrading: XP to Win7
    By TrekCaptainUSA in forum Windows 7
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 27th, 2009, 07:45 AM
  3. Memory usage in Win XP
    By DFW_Tech_Kenny in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 17th, 2003, 09:15 AM
  4. 3.12 memory usage
    By superboogerboy in forum Novell
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 26th, 2001, 04:57 PM
  5. McAfee NetShield Causing Huge Memory Usage in Store.exe
    By sebass54 in forum Windows NT/2000
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 27th, 2001, 04:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •