Outlook express import address book
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Outlook express import address book

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,534

    Outlook express import address book

    Had to backup and format an xp box today and he uses outlook express. When importing the address book in it said it completed successfully but there were no contacts there. I know there is a bunch of them there cause you see they are going in. What should I do here?
    Jesus replied: "'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind

  2. #2
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,952
    I might be tempted to try to remove the account and then try it again. Not sure if you have tried this.
    Also you might try putting Live Mail in there and see if the contacts can be imported to there. Then exported
    Just a few thoughts
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  3. #3
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    241
    See the attached pic.... See if there are more than one contact owner's name.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    Yes you might have imported to the personal address book (*.pab) instead of the windows address book (*.wab)

    Have a search for both - how did you import the address book, from a CSV file?
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,534
    I just grabbed the .wab from appdatta and imported it in. He has a ton of contacts. They do import but they don't populate the area where you see them at the bottom left. If you write an email and got to the to and type a name it will come up.
    Jesus replied: "'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind

  6. #6
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    Have a look at this registry key
    "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\WAB\WAB4 "
    and you want te useOutlook key
    That should be dword00000000

    Outlook Express may be trying to use another address book
    Also check in tools options, maintenance where the address book is, go find it and then open it to see if it is populated.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  7. #7
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    241
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    See the attached pic.... See if there are more than one contact owner's name.
    Did you have any luck when you checked this out??

  8. #8
    Registered User slgrieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,103
    Yeah, just sounds like you snagged the wrong wab file, Kodiak. If you had exported it and were trying to import to a different MS email client, I'd rant about interoperability issues with MS email programs, but I guess I'll save it for another time.
    Yes, Mr. Death... I'll play you a game! But not CHESS !!! BAH... FOOEY! My game is...
    WIFFLEBALL!

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,534
    I don't think it was the wrong file I have done this many time. (not getting defensive here) I tired it again by renaming the .wab that ended up in appdata/microsoft/addressbook to .old. His .wab has 1000's of addresses. It starts and you can see the addresses going in then after and bit they all disappear. If you make an email and you click on to all the addresses show up there and he can send an email or he can just type in the first few letters of the persons name and it will show up it just won't populate the bottom left.
    Jesus replied: "'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind

  10. #10
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,952
    Sounds like something is wrong in the view portion of outlook express.
    From what you say they are there, just not showing in the bottom left
    where they should be.
    This isnt exactly your issue but some info i n here may help ya
    It's the view of the contact pane that's the issue
    http://www.windowsbbs.com/internet-e...sappeared.html
    Something else which may help
    Look under the Tools menu in the Outlook Express Address Book.
    Does it show Share?
    If so, uncheck Share.
    Last edited by Ferrit; December 26th, 2012 at 12:39 PM.
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  11. #11
    Registered User slgrieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,103
    Kodiak, for grins, try installing Thunderbird and importing the data. If you find that everything works correctly in Thunderbird, then you can feel pretty safe in assuming a problem with Outlook Express. You can download a fresh copy from MS and re-install it, but if Tbird works, I think I'd be trying to make a case with your client for replacing OE. Junk mail filter, tabbed view etc. Live Mail (or whatever MS is calling it this week) is an option, but I think the interface is about the worst Ribbon implementation I've seen.
    Yes, Mr. Death... I'll play you a game! But not CHESS !!! BAH... FOOEY! My game is...
    WIFFLEBALL!

  12. #12
    Registered User CeeBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,494
    Quote Originally Posted by slgrieb View Post
    Kodiak, for grins, try installing Thunderbird and importing the data.
    Moving to Thunderbird was a big mistake I made long time ago. There is no way back other than losing all emails from TB. I'd take WLM or Outlook over it without any hesitation.
    Protected by Glock. Don't mess with me!

  13. #13
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,952
    Quote Originally Posted by CeeBee View Post
    Moving to Thunderbird was a big mistake I made long time ago. There is no way back other than losing all emails from TB. I'd take WLM or Outlook over it without any hesitation.
    All Lies I have done it a number of times and here are the instructions

    http://www.broobles.com/imapsize/th2outlook.php

    Best to be sure of what you are saying before you say it.
    I used Thunderbird for a number of years quite successfully and i moved to outlook
    from it.
    Last edited by Ferrit; December 26th, 2012 at 03:48 PM.
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  14. #14
    Registered User slgrieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,103
    Quote Originally Posted by Ferrit View Post
    All Lies I have done it a number of times and here are the instructions

    http://www.broobles.com/imapsize/th2outlook.php

    Best to be sure of what you are saying before you say it.
    I used Thunderbird for a number of years quite successfully and i moved to outlook
    from it.
    Yeah, I've found moving from Thunderbird to other email clients much smoother than getting Outlook Express to move contacts to Outlook, or getting Windows Mail migrated to Outlook. It always seems to be the contact lists that are the difficult issue between MS clients.
    Yes, Mr. Death... I'll play you a game! But not CHESS !!! BAH... FOOEY! My game is...
    WIFFLEBALL!

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,534
    He did say he was going to try TB and I have not heard anything from him as to any problems. He just wanted to make sure the contacts were there he didn't really care if they populated the contact area or not. It just bugs me when things aren't the way there suppose to be.
    Jesus replied: "'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind

Similar Threads

  1. Address Book Outlook vers Express for the Net
    By Twigs in forum Microsoft Office
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 17th, 2007, 10:01 AM
  2. Import of Address Book Fails
    By jholland1964 in forum Windows 95/98/98SE/ME
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 5th, 2003, 04:21 PM
  3. Outlook express 6 sending to all of address book
    By Auric in forum Tech-To-Tech
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: April 26th, 2002, 12:03 PM
  4. [RESOLVED] Address's lost in outlook express(Address Book)
    By Blacknight in forum Windows 95/98/98SE/ME
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 23rd, 2002, 07:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •