|
-
February 26th, 2004, 02:12 PM
#1
Most Greaterlyist
strange
i found this thing on a friends computer last night and i don't even know how top explain it, but i'm gonna try
he has this icon on his desktop for "free online poker" and it refers to a site called umaxsearch.com/search or something like that.
wierd thing is, no matter how many times i delete it, it alwasy comes back.
This spyware (i'm assuming) is totally farking up his ie settings to the point where it removes and replaces his bookmarks on every boot and causes the address bar not to function. He has to use the netZero search bar for an address and then click the supplied link. I ran adaware and removed like 40 some entries and deleted umax entries from reg, but this thing keeps coming back.
has anybody heard of this or even understand what it is that i am talking aboot?
It's good to be the King.
Similar Threads
-
By Papa Smurf in forum Tech Lounge & Tales
Replies: 15
Last Post: February 26th, 2002, 01:10 PM
-
By Thunderwind in forum Windows NT/2000
Replies: 3
Last Post: November 16th, 2001, 07:32 AM
-
By Geek #1 in forum BIOS/Motherboard Drivers
Replies: 2
Last Post: July 19th, 2001, 05:54 AM
-
By kriminull in forum CD-ROM/CDR(-W)/DVD Drivers
Replies: 22
Last Post: July 18th, 2001, 09:28 AM
-
By Pinnacle in forum Tech-To-Tech
Replies: 0
Last Post: September 5th, 2000, 10:15 PM
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|
Bookmarks