|
-
April 15th, 2005, 07:16 AM
#21
Like I mentioned previously, there have been other reported sitings of this problem at the Maxthon site, so one suspects a little untidiness within it causing a Spybot false positive. Having said that, it isn't being reported by everyone, so something has gone wacky...
The Spybot find does indeed refer to sitefinder.verisign.com and its inability to fix the problem. And like you Binay, I had previously incorporated someonewhocares hosts file into my own, so that re-route is blocked. My concern was that I was finding info via a google that linked mysoft to the W32.Zori.B virus. If this is indeed the case, then my concern was not so much the re-direct (as blocked above) but rather the fact that the virus' intent was to begin to delete files on its own.
But with SpywareBlaster running and a series of scans by AVG, Ad-Aware, a squared and now, MS AntiSpyware - and they all finding no reference to mysoft or the virus - one is hopeful that it is simply a little bit of sloppiness in Maxthon and that Spybot is recording the false positive.
Though I guess I'll find out by mid-week next week as 9 days will have passed since mysoft was reported and the virus is meant to kick in deleting stuff....
Similar Threads
-
By sethfp in forum Hard Drive/IDE/SCSI Drivers
Replies: 6
Last Post: October 11th, 2004, 07:00 AM
-
By Shard92 in forum Tech-To-Tech
Replies: 4
Last Post: May 6th, 2004, 12:59 PM
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|
Bookmarks